Tabletop Classics

What started off as an idle experiment at home one insomnia-ridden night became a passion. Crudely armed with a cheap tripod, a glass tea table (dark tint) and a cheap neon table lamp I shot my first table top in absolute darkness of my living room using a Canon Powershot S3 . The object was a 1:18 scale model of the 1955 Mercedes 300 SLR Coupe ‘Uhlenhaut’ gifted to me by my dad 6 years ago. Later I used a can of Diet Coke and also a bottle of wine with a wine glass. But diecast model cars seem a better option. Their photos put life in them.

Last weekend, I shot my second car, a 1935 Duesenberg SSJ using a Nikon D80. The 320 hp roadster broke the world speed record at Bonneville salt flats.  Only two of these Roadsters were ever made ($9500 just for the chassis !)-one for Clark Gable and the other for Gary Cooper.

Interestingly, Mercedes too made only two of the 1955 300 SLR Coupe designed by Rudolph Uhlenhaut. The open top original version won the second Mille Miglia with Stirling Moss behind its wheel. Mercedes reintroduced the 300 SLR after 48 years in 2003.

It is costing me quite a quid to indulge in this hobby. These tinny classics actually cost between Rs 600 – Rs 2000 each! I hope I can acquire a few more rare classics and photograph them.

1935 Duesenberg SSJ

1955 Mercedes Benz 300 SLR

1 comment so far

  1. Sriram on

    Superb! And you’re right.. the cars induce life into the photos.. much more than the coke or the wine.


Leave a Reply

